Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    Was looking for answer to my question in this post, but found answer myself to the problem of - "Unexpected {", that`s why i wanted to share with my answer- for me the problem was line breaking encoding - somehow some of my files were using macintosh line breaks, but when i changed them to windows line breaks - my problem(on localhost(WAMP) everything works, but on linux webserver dont) was solved. Commented Aug 21, 2017 at 20:36
  • @EdgarsAivars Thanks for your comment! Platform-specific linebreaks are indeed an uncommon and tricky issue. I'll probably mention it within here as well. (It was just mentioned as aside in the other reference answer.)
    – mario
    Commented Aug 21, 2017 at 21:19
  • I found that getting Unexpected } was because a piece of my code used the php short tag <? instead of <?php - took me a while to find this one as it worked on other servers.
    – c7borg
    Commented Sep 28, 2018 at 12:00