Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • 3
    It is obviously. However, relisting IDEs here, can you elaborate a bit where they differ in their syntax helpfulness? Sublime is mostly an editor, not IDE; but then more pretty and snappy; does primarily just syntax highlighing but's also veritable at bracket matching. It easily discovers T_CONSTANT_AND_ENCAPSED errors instantly for example, unlike PHPStorm; which however does more squiggly lines for inline errors. NetBeans´ syntax hints used to be more cryptic than PHPs even (relisting allowed constructs rather). Can you share your experience on pros/cons; is your favorite Eclipse/PDT or..?
    – mario
    Commented Aug 12, 2013 at 20:31
  • @mario I think you are really deep into the topic so i really dont want to say anything wrong here, but all the code I (and my team mates, friends who code, freelance partners) have ever written in an IDE never ever was executed with a syntax error. So I think at least Netbeans/PHPStorm's syntax check is extremely powerful. But maybe I've misread your question. Gimme some hours ... ;)
    – Sliq
    Commented Aug 12, 2013 at 21:03
  • Your answer is already spot on. Would fit 99% of our questions. However for the context here I'd like a trade-off consideration on which IDE provides the more newbie-friendly tooltips. It's probably minor to us, colorization and squiggly lines being sufficient if you're versed enough. But I presume the differences could be more significant to beginners.
    – mario
    Commented Aug 12, 2013 at 21:29
  • Sometimes an IDE is not a feasible option. For example, making quick edits to a WordPress theme or plugin. Yes, I could copy all the code into an IDE, but then I have to open it up, paste it all in there, set headers and all that other time wasting crap, when I'm just hoping for a quick edit. Now, if you're developing new features or starting from scratch, then, yes, do it in an IDE. You won't regret taking that bit of extra time at the start to set it up. Commented Mar 6, 2017 at 16:22
  • 1
    @SimaoGomesViana For my sites, I do have a local instance and I edit in Sublime. But when a friend calls, or I'm screwing around with a new site that's not really live yet, I do edit straight on server. If I'm worried about it, I backup the file locally, but I've also backed it up on the server to. Lol. I'm just saying, sometimes there's nothing wrong with quick and dirty. Commented Apr 24, 2023 at 23:17