Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
15 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 24, 2023 at 23:23 comment added user1934286 That said, Sublime conveniently can copy a server's entire directory tree, and usually it's pretty good at reading the headers already there and linking files for you, so the part about pasting in my 6 year old comment is not really a thing anymore. But still, I wouldn't download a whole directory if I figured I'd only be editing this one time.
Apr 24, 2023 at 23:17 comment added user1934286 @SimaoGomesViana For my sites, I do have a local instance and I edit in Sublime. But when a friend calls, or I'm screwing around with a new site that's not really live yet, I do edit straight on server. If I'm worried about it, I backup the file locally, but I've also backed it up on the server to. Lol. I'm just saying, sometimes there's nothing wrong with quick and dirty.
Apr 24, 2023 at 12:34 comment added Simao Gomes Viana @user1934286 You should consider not editing plugins or themes on the server you're running it on. Changes should be tested locally, and IDEs like PhpStorm will happily work with a WordPress tree. You can then push the changes to the server. If it's a bigger site, there should also be considerations around doing proper deployments.
Jun 20, 2020 at 9:12 history edited CommunityBot
Commonmark migration
Feb 28, 2018 at 0:05 history edited Peter Mortensen CC BY-SA 3.0
Active reading. [<http://english.stackexchange.com/questions/4645/is-it-ever-correct-to-have-a-space-before-a-question-or-exclamation-mark#comment206109_4645> <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PHP>]
Sep 22, 2017 at 12:16 history edited ghoti CC BY-SA 3.0
update pricing, speling, links
Mar 6, 2017 at 16:22 comment added user1934286 Sometimes an IDE is not a feasible option. For example, making quick edits to a WordPress theme or plugin. Yes, I could copy all the code into an IDE, but then I have to open it up, paste it all in there, set headers and all that other time wasting crap, when I'm just hoping for a quick edit. Now, if you're developing new features or starting from scratch, then, yes, do it in an IDE. You won't regret taking that bit of extra time at the start to set it up.
May 5, 2016 at 23:49 history edited Tim Malone CC BY-SA 3.0
Spelling erra
Aug 22, 2013 at 23:11 history made wiki Post Made Community Wiki by Gordon
Aug 16, 2013 at 22:26 history bounty ended mario
Aug 12, 2013 at 21:35 history edited Sliq CC BY-SA 3.0
added more info on Sublime's plugin possibilities
Aug 12, 2013 at 21:29 comment added mario Your answer is already spot on. Would fit 99% of our questions. However for the context here I'd like a trade-off consideration on which IDE provides the more newbie-friendly tooltips. It's probably minor to us, colorization and squiggly lines being sufficient if you're versed enough. But I presume the differences could be more significant to beginners.
Aug 12, 2013 at 21:03 comment added Sliq @mario I think you are really deep into the topic so i really dont want to say anything wrong here, but all the code I (and my team mates, friends who code, freelance partners) have ever written in an IDE never ever was executed with a syntax error. So I think at least Netbeans/PHPStorm's syntax check is extremely powerful. But maybe I've misread your question. Gimme some hours ... ;)
Aug 12, 2013 at 20:31 comment added mario It is obviously. However, relisting IDEs here, can you elaborate a bit where they differ in their syntax helpfulness? Sublime is mostly an editor, not IDE; but then more pretty and snappy; does primarily just syntax highlighing but's also veritable at bracket matching. It easily discovers T_CONSTANT_AND_ENCAPSED errors instantly for example, unlike PHPStorm; which however does more squiggly lines for inline errors. NetBeans´ syntax hints used to be more cryptic than PHPs even (relisting allowed constructs rather). Can you share your experience on pros/cons; is your favorite Eclipse/PDT or..?
Aug 12, 2013 at 19:16 history answered Sliq CC BY-SA 3.0