Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

16
  • 8
    Quote from the post (a bit above your quote): "We will send this survey to the recently-resigned moderators so that their suggestions can be considered.". I'll be waiting this survey before voting on antything
    – Tensibai
    Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:20
  • 72
    "About a month ago, I joined Stack Overflow as Head of Product and Community"..... it takes time to get your head around a company, and then to try and get your head around a community as.... vibrant and challenging (in a good way) as SE's is going to take even longer. I think bashing them for this isn't nice. Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:20
  • 21
    please, I'm not bashing anyone. I'm simply stating what needs to happen, IMO. Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:22
  • 10
    "In short, action not words." - yes, but they're being transparent about it. Several things they're doing have been mentioned, and we have actually mentioned that we want more transparency a couple times. Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:22
  • 39
    I'd actually say that we need better actions and words. Don't discount the immense communication issue the SEI and the community have had. This is a good step forward in that area at least (assuming they keep moving forward in this direction). Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:24
  • 18
    Agreed with all of the above. A personal apology is a nice first step but, coming from someone new who wasn't involved in anything that went down, it's hardly meaningful. A personal apology from those involved and a non-personal apology from the company would be much better. That said, the communication and community commitments are excellent and I hope it pans out. Of course, they did fire the people who were doing the best at those things....
    – user154510
    Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:27
  • 119
    I tend to agree with this answer. I like nice words. I'm a big believer in nice words. I try to write nice words... But it is actions that tell you whether nice words are sincere. There is a certain action the company must take which has been pending for several months... It could be done well, or it could end up being another slap in the face for the volunteers who've dedicated so much time here. I will withhold judgement on these words until I see how that action is taken.
    – Shog9
    Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:30
  • 7
    @Shog9 I actually disagreed with this answer specifically because it did not withhold judgement on the words and simply assumed that no actions can be taken to move things forward. Recently we've had miscommunication after miscommunication and attempts to repair that aspect should not be discounted I think. Of course it is all meaningless if not followed up by actions, but words are faster and easier than actions and it is a good first step. Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:35
  • 52
    I didn't read it that way, @rubiks. Max notes that there are many, many extant pleas from moderators and curators; I happen to know there are also dozens of heartfelt emails from the same. Starting with them would indeed be a good show of good faith. IOW, before asking for more feedback, start by listening to what has already been said.
    – Shog9
    Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:39
  • 4
    @Rubiksmoose - I didn't want to leave a long winded wordy answer. I don't think I was rude to Teresa, even if I didn't explicitly mention that an apology is a good thing. This event (and the surrounding issues) demand far more than simply more words. Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:39
  • 1
    @MaxVernon: I don't think you were rude at all, FWIW. I just don't really think I share your outlook. In the end though, we all seem to agree. Actions must follow through on these words or they are worse than meaningless, they are a slap in the face. Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:42
  • 2
    @MaxVernon I agree with your last comment, but your answer seems to ignore what's in the bullet points above the part you quoted and it sounds like their planned actions don't exists at all.
    – Tensibai
    Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 16:42
  • 1
    @Rubiksmoose where does this answer assumes that "no actions can be taken to move things forward"?
    – Lamak
    Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 18:51
  • @Lamak I'd rather not debate this in the comments here. It's not really useful to the answerer and usually not helpful to either person arguing either ;-) I didn't downvote or anything so what I think has little impact regardless. Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 19:04
  • @lamak is always useful Commented Feb 19, 2020 at 19:16