Skip to main content
Minor wording changes
Source Link
Stevoisiak
  • 15.1k
  • 3
  • 35
  • 83

I guess it's a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and it's worth thinking about the effects recent actions have had, both at a personal level for management level staff as welland as a company the effects that recent actions have had. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real consequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community, both in terms of employees, and community members. (And many are both, and some community members might aspire to work for a Stack Exchange they knew cared.)

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the stack exchangeStack Exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know at least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it, has still mostly has been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been soldiering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM team has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. It's not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

I guess it's a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and it's worth thinking about, both at a personal level for management level staff as well as a company the effects that recent actions have had. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real consequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community, both in terms of employees, and community members. (And many are both, and some community members might aspire to work for a Stack Exchange they knew cared.)

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the stack exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know at least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it, still mostly has been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been soldiering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM team has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. It's not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

I guess it's a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and it's worth thinking about the effects recent actions have had, both at a personal level for management level staff and as a company. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real consequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community, both in terms of employees, and community members. (And many are both, and some community members might aspire to work for a Stack Exchange they knew cared.)

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the Stack Exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know at least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it, has still mostly been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been soldiering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM team has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. It's not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

mostly apostrophes
Source Link
Mithical
  • 83.1k
  • 28
  • 143
  • 306

I guess itsit's a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and itsit's worth thinking about, both at a personal level for management level staff as well as a company the effects that recent actions have had. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real concequencesconsequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community, both in terms of employees, and community members. (And many are both, and some community members might aspire to work for an SEa Stack Exchange they knew cared)cared.)

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the stack exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know at least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it, still mostly has been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been solderingsoldiering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM thingteam has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. ItsIt's not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

I guess its a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and its worth thinking about, both at a personal level for management level staff as well as a company the effects that recent actions have had. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real concequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community, both in terms of employees, and community members. (And many are both, and some community members might aspire to work for an SE they knew cared).

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the stack exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it still mostly has been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been soldering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM thing has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. Its not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

I guess it's a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and it's worth thinking about, both at a personal level for management level staff as well as a company the effects that recent actions have had. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real consequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community, both in terms of employees, and community members. (And many are both, and some community members might aspire to work for a Stack Exchange they knew cared.)

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the stack exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know at least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it, still mostly has been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been soldiering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM team has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. It's not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

added 147 characters in body
Source Link
Journeyman Geek
  • 183.1k
  • 48
  • 341
  • 730

I guess its a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and its worth thinking about, both at a personal level for management level staff as well as a company the effects that recent actions have had. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real concequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community, both in terms of employees, and community members. (And many are both, and some community members might aspire to work for an SE they knew cared).

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the stack exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it still mostly has been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been soldering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM thing has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. Its not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

I guess its a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and its worth thinking about, both at a personal level for management level staff as well as a company the effects that recent actions have had. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real concequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community.

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the stack exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it still mostly has been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been soldering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM thing has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. Its not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

I guess its a start.

I'm a MSE mod, and unsurprisingly, that means that I've spent a lot more time than is probably healthy here.

I've also heard a few stories I shouldn't have, and its worth thinking about, both at a personal level for management level staff as well as a company the effects that recent actions have had. While I believe assigning blame is still counterproductive, it might do well for some folks to accept and understand the very real concequences of their actions.

I'm aware that there's been a significant amount of attrition, both voluntary and involuntary, and it's often the folks most committed to the community, both in terms of employees, and community members. (And many are both, and some community members might aspire to work for an SE they knew cared).

There's also a handful of communities that drifted away. Many of them have chatrooms dedicated to keeping up with goings on here.

Every loss diminishes us. We probably lost a significant amount of expertise, both in terms of knowledge in the domains our sites serve and in terms of folks who know the stack exchange network intimately in recent times.

Trust is hard won. But many of these folks still have close enough ties to the network to care.

Winning that trust needs more than words - it needs actions. And in a community that's been told they don't matter, it might need a grand gesture.

We're battered and bruised - I know least on MSE - the mods have been taking rotating breaks from the site because we've been hit with waves of drama.

There's been a few bright spots. Despite all of the constraints placed on them, the community team, or what's left of it still mostly has been doing their best. They lost a lot of folks at once - and yet, despite it all, have been soldering on.

There are lots of communities and a strong, well resourced and motivated CM thing has been pretty high on the wishlist for ages.

Yaakov's been awesome (don't let it get to your head 😁). He's been a pretty good conduit both ways and gets meta. We need more folks like that.

Originally, I was going to give a few suggestions on how to make things better.

Trust is earned, not demanded. Its not bought either. So I figure that I'll trust the folks I know I can trust, and hope that they can get the right things through. So... Trust the people who've been working hard to hold the community together and listen to them. They'll have an idea of what to do if they can speak freely and without fear.

Post Undeleted by Journeyman Geek
added 254 characters in body
Source Link
Journeyman Geek
  • 183.1k
  • 48
  • 341
  • 730
Loading
Post Deleted by Journeyman Geek
Source Link
Journeyman Geek
  • 183.1k
  • 48
  • 341
  • 730
Loading