Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
GhostCat
  • 38k
  • 17
  • 111
  • 206

My name is Teresa Dietrich. About a month ago, I joined Stack Overflow as Head of Product and Community.

Kinda funny. When I heard about you joining SE Inc. in that position, and your past history, my very first idea was "maybe it would be helpful to send you a private, short, polite message on Twitter, just to indicate that there might be point of views you don't hear about from your new peers in SE Inc management".

  But then I reminded myself that your past history shows that you are the kind of person who figures such things all by yourself. 

I am very glad it worked out this way.!

Definitely a great start, I just wish this new fresh tune from a new SE Inc. employee ... wouldn't sit in the shadow of the resource actions some weeks back.

We are encouraging employees to be active within the community, both officially on metas and for fun in their areas of expertise or interest, and will be providing simple guidelines and a helpful FAQ for employees in the next week.

That one can't be "over" emphasized. I really invite every SE Inc. employee to go try it. Interacting with "the community" isn't always easy, but when you scroll down to the final paragraph of this answer, you might find the gold standard on how to have a good, constructive time here.

To all of the moderators who have resigned or suspended your activities over the past few months: your presence and impact is missed.

Hear, hear. Of course, it has to be seen if "your" position (about the proposed processes, even improved ones) can ever lead to the step that so many people still hope for: seeing Monica Cellio to be reinstated, without further delay, fuzz, politics.

Finally: this is a really great start. But let's be honest: we have read nice great words here before. At some point, without corresponding actions, great words turn hollow and pathetic.

I very much hope that this won't happen here. Instead, I wish you success in moving your ideas forward. And as long as you do that openly and transparent, without a hidden agenda, rest assured: we will be listening, and contribute. You see, even if we dislike this or that idea, as long as you are honest about the why and what, we will listen.

My name is Teresa Dietrich. About a month ago, I joined Stack Overflow as Head of Product and Community.

Kinda funny. When I heard about you joining SE Inc. in that position, and your past history, my very first idea was "maybe it would be helpful to send you a private, short, polite message on Twitter, just to indicate that there might be point of views you don't hear about from your new peers in SE Inc management".

  But then I reminded myself that your past history shows that you are the kind of person who figures such things all by yourself. I am very glad it worked out this way.

Definitely a great start, I just wish this new fresh tune from a new SE Inc. employee ... wouldn't sit in the shadow of the resource actions some weeks back.

We are encouraging employees to be active within the community, both officially on metas and for fun in their areas of expertise or interest, and will be providing simple guidelines and a helpful FAQ for employees in the next week.

That one can't be "over" emphasized. I really invite every SE Inc. employee to go try it. Interacting with "the community" isn't always easy, but when you scroll down to the final paragraph of this answer, you might find the gold standard on how to have a good, constructive time here.

To all of the moderators who have resigned or suspended your activities over the past few months: your presence and impact is missed.

Hear, hear. Of course, it has to be seen if "your" position (about the proposed processes, even improved ones) can ever lead to the step that so many people still hope for: seeing Monica Cellio to be reinstated, without further delay, fuzz, politics.

Finally: this is a really great start. But let's be honest: we have read nice great words here before. At some point, without corresponding actions, great words turn hollow and pathetic.

I very much hope that this won't happen here. Instead, I wish you success in moving your ideas forward. And as long as you do that openly and transparent, without a hidden agenda, rest assured: we will be listening, and contribute. You see, even if we dislike this or that idea, as long as you are honest about the why and what, we will listen.

My name is Teresa Dietrich. About a month ago, I joined Stack Overflow as Head of Product and Community.

Kinda funny. When I heard about you joining SE Inc. in that position, and your past history, my very first idea was "maybe it would be helpful to send you a private, short, polite message on Twitter, just to indicate that there might be point of views you don't hear about from your new peers in SE Inc management". But then I reminded myself that your past history shows that you are the kind of person who figures such things all by yourself. 

I am very glad it worked out this way!

Definitely a great start, I just wish this new fresh tune from a new SE Inc. employee ... wouldn't sit in the shadow of the resource actions some weeks back.

We are encouraging employees to be active within the community, both officially on metas and for fun in their areas of expertise or interest, and will be providing simple guidelines and a helpful FAQ for employees in the next week.

That one can't be "over" emphasized. I really invite every SE Inc. employee to go try it. Interacting with "the community" isn't always easy, but when you scroll down to the final paragraph of this answer, you might find the gold standard on how to have a good, constructive time here.

To all of the moderators who have resigned or suspended your activities over the past few months: your presence and impact is missed.

Hear, hear. Of course, it has to be seen if "your" position (about the proposed processes, even improved ones) can ever lead to the step that so many people still hope for: seeing Monica Cellio to be reinstated, without further delay, fuzz, politics.

Finally: this is a really great start. But let's be honest: we have read nice great words here before. At some point, without corresponding actions, great words turn hollow and pathetic.

I very much hope that this won't happen here. Instead, I wish you success in moving your ideas forward. And as long as you do that openly and transparent, without a hidden agenda, rest assured: we will be listening, and contribute. You see, even if we dislike this or that idea, as long as you are honest about the why and what, we will listen.

added 197 characters in body
Source Link
GhostCat
  • 38k
  • 17
  • 111
  • 206

My name is Teresa Dietrich. About a month ago, I joined Stack Overflow as Head of Product and Community.

Kinda funny. When I heard about you joining SE Inc. in that position, and your past history, my very first idea was "maybe it would be helpful to send you a private, short, polite message on Twitter, just to indicate that there might be point of views you don't hear about from your new peers in SE Inc management".

But then I reminded myself that your past history shows that you are the kind of person who figures such things all by yourself. I am very glad it worked out this way.

Definitely a great start, I just wish this new fresh tune from a new SE Inc. employee ... wouldn't sit in the shadow of the resource actions some weeks back.

We are encouraging employees to be active within the community, both officially on metas and for fun in their areas of expertise or interest, and will be providing simple guidelines and a helpful FAQ for employees in the next week.

That one can't be "over" emphasized. I really invite every SE Inc. employee to go try it. Interacting with "the community" isn't always easy, but when you scroll down to the final paragraph of this answer, you might find the gold standard on how to have a good, constructive time here.

To all of the moderators who have resigned or suspended your activities over the past few months: your presence and impact is missed.

Hear, hear. Of course, it has to be seen if "your" position (about the proposed processes, even improved ones) can ever lead to the step that so many people still hope for: seeing Monica Cellio to be reinstated, without further delay, fuzz, politics.

Finally: this is a really great start. But let's be honest: we have read nice great words here before. At some point, without corresponding actions, great words turn hollow and pathetic.

I very much hope that this won't happen here. Instead, I wish you success in moving your ideas forward. And as long as you do that openly and transparent, without a hidden agenda, rest assured: we will be listening, and contribute. You see, even if we dislike this or that idea, as long as you are honest about the why and what, we will listen.

My name is Teresa Dietrich. About a month ago, I joined Stack Overflow as Head of Product and Community.

Kinda funny. When I heard about you joining SE Inc. in that position, and your past history, my very first idea was "maybe it would be helpful to send you a private, short, polite message on Twitter, just to indicate that there might be point of views you don't hear about from your new peers in SE Inc management".

But then I reminded myself that your past history shows that you are the kind of person who figures such things all by yourself. I am very glad it worked out this way.

Definitely a great start, I just wish this new fresh tune from a new SE Inc. employee ... wouldn't sit in the shadow of the resource actions some weeks back.

We are encouraging employees to be active within the community, both officially on metas and for fun in their areas of expertise or interest, and will be providing simple guidelines and a helpful FAQ for employees in the next week.

That one can't be "over" emphasized. I really invite every SE Inc. employee to go try it.

To all of the moderators who have resigned or suspended your activities over the past few months: your presence and impact is missed.

Hear, hear. Of course, it has to be seen if "your" position (about the proposed processes, even improved ones) can ever lead to the step that so many people still hope for: seeing Monica Cellio to be reinstated, without further delay, fuzz, politics.

Finally: this is a really great start. But let's be honest: we have read nice great words here before. At some point, without corresponding actions, great words turn hollow and pathetic.

I very much hope that this won't happen here. Instead, I wish you success in moving your ideas forward. And as long as you do that openly and transparent, without a hidden agenda, rest assured: we will be listening, and contribute. You see, even if we dislike this or that idea, as long as you are honest about the why and what, we will listen.

My name is Teresa Dietrich. About a month ago, I joined Stack Overflow as Head of Product and Community.

Kinda funny. When I heard about you joining SE Inc. in that position, and your past history, my very first idea was "maybe it would be helpful to send you a private, short, polite message on Twitter, just to indicate that there might be point of views you don't hear about from your new peers in SE Inc management".

But then I reminded myself that your past history shows that you are the kind of person who figures such things all by yourself. I am very glad it worked out this way.

Definitely a great start, I just wish this new fresh tune from a new SE Inc. employee ... wouldn't sit in the shadow of the resource actions some weeks back.

We are encouraging employees to be active within the community, both officially on metas and for fun in their areas of expertise or interest, and will be providing simple guidelines and a helpful FAQ for employees in the next week.

That one can't be "over" emphasized. I really invite every SE Inc. employee to go try it. Interacting with "the community" isn't always easy, but when you scroll down to the final paragraph of this answer, you might find the gold standard on how to have a good, constructive time here.

To all of the moderators who have resigned or suspended your activities over the past few months: your presence and impact is missed.

Hear, hear. Of course, it has to be seen if "your" position (about the proposed processes, even improved ones) can ever lead to the step that so many people still hope for: seeing Monica Cellio to be reinstated, without further delay, fuzz, politics.

Finally: this is a really great start. But let's be honest: we have read nice great words here before. At some point, without corresponding actions, great words turn hollow and pathetic.

I very much hope that this won't happen here. Instead, I wish you success in moving your ideas forward. And as long as you do that openly and transparent, without a hidden agenda, rest assured: we will be listening, and contribute. You see, even if we dislike this or that idea, as long as you are honest about the why and what, we will listen.

Source Link
GhostCat
  • 38k
  • 17
  • 111
  • 206

My name is Teresa Dietrich. About a month ago, I joined Stack Overflow as Head of Product and Community.

Kinda funny. When I heard about you joining SE Inc. in that position, and your past history, my very first idea was "maybe it would be helpful to send you a private, short, polite message on Twitter, just to indicate that there might be point of views you don't hear about from your new peers in SE Inc management".

But then I reminded myself that your past history shows that you are the kind of person who figures such things all by yourself. I am very glad it worked out this way.

Definitely a great start, I just wish this new fresh tune from a new SE Inc. employee ... wouldn't sit in the shadow of the resource actions some weeks back.

We are encouraging employees to be active within the community, both officially on metas and for fun in their areas of expertise or interest, and will be providing simple guidelines and a helpful FAQ for employees in the next week.

That one can't be "over" emphasized. I really invite every SE Inc. employee to go try it.

To all of the moderators who have resigned or suspended your activities over the past few months: your presence and impact is missed.

Hear, hear. Of course, it has to be seen if "your" position (about the proposed processes, even improved ones) can ever lead to the step that so many people still hope for: seeing Monica Cellio to be reinstated, without further delay, fuzz, politics.

Finally: this is a really great start. But let's be honest: we have read nice great words here before. At some point, without corresponding actions, great words turn hollow and pathetic.

I very much hope that this won't happen here. Instead, I wish you success in moving your ideas forward. And as long as you do that openly and transparent, without a hidden agenda, rest assured: we will be listening, and contribute. You see, even if we dislike this or that idea, as long as you are honest about the why and what, we will listen.