Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

14
  • 65
    Exactly how I feel. It's clever from SO having her apologize, because we don't want to criticize her because again, she didn't do anything. And, that makes us not capable of criticizing the apology when really, it should be coming from the people who made the mistakes. But whatever, these points have been hashed and rehashed, I'll watch happens to SO now with optimistic skepticism. Commented Feb 20, 2020 at 14:58
  • 20
    Indeed. It's yet another cynical move by SO. It feels like they hired someone just to be the new "fall guy"
    – Aaron F
    Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 10:32
  • 7
    @AaronF Hmm, not sure. I think the SO position has changed from "damage control" to "repair" and that Teresa has been assigned the repair tasks. (I say this thanks to a few jobs I have had over the years where I walked in to replace the previous person and the assignment was "fix this." ) Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 13:29
  • 6
    Many companies underestimate the value their users provide, especially when they are basically working for free, providing content or moderating without any pay. They take for granted the very people that make their company possible. Either they treat their volunteers nicely and with respect, or they'll be forced to start paying people to do what these volunteers used to do. Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 16:12
  • @ScottM.Stolz I mentioned something similar to that in this answer regarding the non profit that my brother is still a part of. Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 16:18
  • 14
    Employees can get disconnected. If 60% of revenue comes from Teams, and 30% from Jobs, then the web community seems to just be a cost sink. In reality, nearly every penny of that income comes as a side-effect of the community's effort in public Q&A, so it's self-destructive to ignore it... but companies show self-destructive behavior all the time. It's like cutting product quality to have more money for advertising. There may be a short gain, but it's followed by a painful collapse. Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 22:45
  • 5
    She may not have done it, but she jumped onto a sinking ship. So she can go down with it as far as I'm concerned. As I've said elsewhere, I've never before seen such a precipitous fall from greatness as I have here over the past few years, and especially over the past few months. And I killed a HUGE (10000+ users) initiative to use Teams because the ship IS sinking. Unlike the OP here, I don't want to be associated with failure.
    – TomServo
    Commented Feb 22, 2020 at 1:18
  • @AskAboutMonica but companies show self-destructive behavior all the time you can ask my dad about his 7000 shares in GE ... yeah ... Commented Feb 23, 2020 at 23:35
  • @TomServo You may be right, but I appreciate any effort to try and patch the leak ... full disclosure, I have had a few jobs where I walked in and the task assigned was "fix this thing ...' Commented Feb 24, 2020 at 0:00
  • 5
    @KorvinStarmast As have I; in fact most of my career has been pulling others' bacon out of the fire. But it's hard to see this latest sweet-talking as anything but a whitewash PR stunt and disingenuous at its core. The contempt SO executives seem to have grown for the core of the community is manifestly obvious. This is what happens when non-tech types take over.
    – TomServo
    Commented Feb 24, 2020 at 0:33
  • 3
    @TomServo I am cynical enough to suspect that you may be right, and hopeful enough to wish otherwise ... Commented Feb 24, 2020 at 0:49
  • @cp.engr a number of non-apology apologies have been issued previously, or differently described, 'official apologies' that rang hollow to a large portion of the engaged users due to actions and words not matching well. As I read through Teresa apologizing for their previous failed attempts at fence mending - that is part of what drove me to write a reply. Commented Feb 25, 2020 at 21:13
  • @KorvinStarmast I was meaning to emphasize the first part of your answer, not contradict it. And maybe I was intending it against some other comment, but I don't recall, and don't have time to reread to find it.
    – cp.engr
    Commented Feb 25, 2020 at 21:17
  • @cp.engr no worries. The point you are making is a good one, and a number of the other answers hit it pretty thoroughly. (I was intending to agree with you with my reply comment, sorry if that didn't come across clearly) Commented Feb 26, 2020 at 1:40