Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

15
  • 10
    Strong agree here. Although I'm aware it is shutting the barn doors too late, this is part of the reason for my current user name.
    – jscs
    Commented Feb 20, 2020 at 17:51
  • 31
    Having reflected on it, I can't take any of the new promises seriously given that there still seems to have been no accountability or consequences whatsoever for the senior managers* responsible for breaking all the site's longstanding rules, precedents, principles and trust with that public slandering. (* managers plural: Jon Ericson recently blogged that the decision had been discussed and planned by senior management, excluding the CMs, for days before being carried out: it wasn't the heat-of-the-moment mistake by one individual most of us assumed it was) Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 0:41
  • 11
    Since I went to look it up, here's the link to Jon's blog post. Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 1:36
  • 5
    And as usual, the uncomfortable replies remain uncommented. Bad sign, especially as it reinforces the usual "nice talk happens, actions continue on previous course." Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 13:07
  • 7
    I know that Teresa has seen this and that it is on her backlog of items to respond to. We appreciate your patience. And as she defined above with expectation management and context setting, I dont think that we are going to be avoiding talking about tough issues when they are raised in a constructive fashion. Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 13:52
  • 7
    @Michael-Where'sClayShirky I think you were looking for 2019 in Review (scroll to the Job section.) Commented Feb 21, 2020 at 18:41
  • @YaakovEllis: Well - was I not correct? (In an interesting turn of events, my previous comment also seems to apply to your reply to it: "sure, we will X, just give it time"...[tumbleweed.gif]) Commented Mar 3, 2020 at 10:54
  • 3
    @Piskvorleftthebuilding From the external perspective: you are correct, we have not yet responded publicly to this. From my perspective, being 100% honest: we are in the middle of tons of stuff (two more big MSE posts coming this week). We have a process in place where we are tracking all of the different issues that we want to address. I know that this general issue is on that list. We simply cannot answer every issue in a thorough way at the same time, and do a good job of it. So I am sticking by my first comment here. You can choose to believe what I say or not. Commented Mar 3, 2020 at 11:21
  • 2
    @YaakovEllis: Thank you for the response. I have summarized the visible events - that is not a matter of belief or disbelief. Your new comment does sound reassuring; as I have no insight into the internals, I am looking forward to further development. Commented Mar 3, 2020 at 12:14
  • @Piskvorleftthebuilding We've been in touch with a few SO employees through an unofficial channel over on discord. It comes with the explicit caveat that the room in question is to be treated like the DMZed bars of old - nothing in there gets out and nobody is held accountable for what they said in there outside of it. That said, it might help to be able to follow what is happening. Commented Mar 3, 2020 at 12:29
  • 1
    @SébastienRenauld: I am literally of two minds on this. On one hand, it sounds nice to apparently have a sympathetic (?) source; OTOH, the similarity to Soviet-bloc-dissent modus operandi is too close for comfort. Thanks for the offer, but I choose plausible deniability. Commented Mar 3, 2020 at 12:58
  • 1
    @Piskvorleftthebuilding I'm on the same side as you on this; I remain to be convinced, but the possibility to speak with people outside the big machine for a fireside chat isn't a bad thing. Obviously, still words, but it's nice to get an informal heads-up to where things are going. (There's also a few ex-CMs on there, people like shog9, and mods) Commented Mar 3, 2020 at 13:04
  • 3
    @SébastienRenauld: Sorry, I explicitly DO NOT TRUST this specific site, or any of its associates, with anything that happens outside of public view. I do not wish to find myself libelled - note under which answer we are commenting. Commented Mar 3, 2020 at 14:10
  • 3
    (Note that even mentioning the possibility that such things may happen (or have happened) might get both of us labelled "not in a constructive fashion" and "toxic". I am confident in multiple languages, Newspeak is not one of them.) Commented Mar 3, 2020 at 14:12
  • 2
    Update: Teresa has posted an official answer to this question, addressing this issue. Commented Jun 16, 2020 at 18:48