Skip to main content
fixed grammar
Source Link

I've lost files added to git during "merge conflict" phase.

Step by step:

git pull
git status

Git informs me about "merge conflict", that's okay. Then I create a new file and add it to git.

vi test.txt
git add test.txt

After that, abort merge:

git merge --abort

I have not found the file "test.txt" neither in directory, nor via "git fsck", nor "git reflog". It isIs it possible to restore the file?

I've lost files added to git during "merge conflict" phase.

Step by step:

git pull
git status

Git informs me about "merge conflict", that's okay. Then I create a new file and add it to git.

vi test.txt
git add test.txt

After that, abort merge:

git merge --abort

I have not found the file "test.txt" neither in directory, nor via "git fsck", nor "git reflog". It is possible to restore the file?

I've lost files added to git during "merge conflict" phase.

Step by step:

git pull
git status

Git informs me about "merge conflict", that's okay. Then I create a new file and add it to git.

vi test.txt
git add test.txt

After that, abort merge:

git merge --abort

I have not found the file "test.txt" neither in directory, nor via "git fsck", nor "git reflog". Is it possible to restore the file?

Source Link

Restore git files deleted after git merge --abort

I've lost files added to git during "merge conflict" phase.

Step by step:

git pull
git status

Git informs me about "merge conflict", that's okay. Then I create a new file and add it to git.

vi test.txt
git add test.txt

After that, abort merge:

git merge --abort

I have not found the file "test.txt" neither in directory, nor via "git fsck", nor "git reflog". It is possible to restore the file?