Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 5 at 12:04 comment added SePeF @ZachYoung Omitting setPrototypeOf() works in JS running in the browser and in node, but not when using a transpiler like Babel. For an explanation see the "Explanation" part of this answer stackoverflow.com/a/43595019/9299798
Jun 4 at 16:34 history edited SePeF CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 68 characters in body
Nov 30, 2022 at 17:55 comment added Zach Young Is Object.setPrototypeOf(this, new.target.prototype) really necessary? I was following along with Corman's answer to this Q, which doesn't have the Object.setProto... line, and my custom error is both an instance of itself (err1 instanceOf MyError) and its super (err1 instanceOf Error).
Sep 21, 2022 at 8:39 comment added NerdyDeeds THANK you! Error.captureStackTrace(this, this.constructor)! Duh, now I look at it, but that was eluding me for hours. Good gods I feel like I've just spent 45 minutes reading a dozen+ pedantically- masturbatory code treatises before finally getting here. Well done! Also, thanks for chiming in years after the fact, too (this is not sarcasm; I really DO appreciate it, lol). Most people see an old question with a buncha answers and brush on past. Your 2 cents were a price I'd happily have paid at twice the cost.
Dec 21, 2021 at 8:19 comment added Steve Moretz The only answer that works, in dept.
Apr 23, 2021 at 13:20 history answered SePeF CC BY-SA 4.0