Alyssa Blackburn’s Post

View profile for Alyssa Blackburn, graphic

Director, Information Management at AvePoint

A couple of months ago I was really thrilled to part of AIIM International's OnAir Podcast with Tori Miller Liu, MBA, FASAE, CAE, CIP (episode here https://lnkd.in/grYwrE8m). As part of this episode I talked about some of my AI fears, including inappropriate use, particularly in relation to minors. I've also spent the morning following this heartbreaking story https://lnkd.in/gwRQs6GJ (Arrest over fake images of teenage girls). I don't have an answer for this (yet... give me a couple of hours) but I do believe that advanced tech like this has to come with some form of regulation so it can be used safely and to best effect. I'm sitting with this a bit today and doing more reflecting. Would love to hear your thoughts.

The Data Problem That’s Stalling AI Success

The Data Problem That’s Stalling AI Success

https://spotify.com

Sarah Lambert-Sheffield, CIP

Lead Document and Records Administrator who greatly enjoys SharePoint

1mo

This is heartbreaking and highlights a whole new and terrifying era of sexual assault for this to be able to happen. I hope the girls all get the support they need to work through whatever emotions they are having as a result of this. It hurts but we know as a society that it only takes one person to tarnish something. Deepfakes and scenarios like this are abusive to the people that are victims. I hope we find a way to enjoy the benefits of this technology while restricting the number of incidents that occur through regulations and respecting right from wrong.

Some countries / areas are much more open to legislation and regulation, such as the EU, while the US generally lags behind, and I have no idea what your situation is in Australia, but its a tough one.

John Mancini

Author - Immigrant Secrets, Industry Strategist, Writer, and Keynote speaker

1mo

I've been thinking about doing a post on this after listening to a similar dreadful story on The Daily. I think it's time to push accountability (i.e., liability) onto the platforms rather than assuming that only education can do the trick. We've had 20 years of given the social platforms carte Blanche to do whatever they want with our kids in the name of protecting "innovation" and the results have not been good. Nothing changed with smoking until the liability equation changed. It's time.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics