Industrial Light & Magic’s Post

View organization page for Industrial Light & Magic, graphic

249,501 followers

We were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of our dear friend and colleague, Jon Landau. We had the immense honor of working with Jon on several pictures, including Titanic and the Avatar franchise. Jon always knew how to bring a big idea to life, and we couldn’t have asked for a better creative partner. Our deepest condolences to Julie, Jamie, and Jodie, alongside his Lightstorm family.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Trevor Hogg

Freelance Journalist at VFX Voice, Animation Magazine, British Cinematographer

1w

Definitely someone who loved making movies and did not have an ounce of ego.

Rich Melcombe

Media Investor, Founder & CEO Richie Knows, Inc.

1w

I met Jon three times on flights to Miami in a one year span long ago. Ironically, we always seem to be booked the same seats. He was going home to the Florida Keys and I meetings for the day in Miami. We shared a lot of laughs and bonded over the coincidences. He showed me pictures of his front yard which were nothing less than spectacular ocean views and sunsets. Good guy. For years, every time I got on a flight, I wondered if Jon would be joining me. Sad to hear about his passing.

Scott M.

Film/TV Development / Startup Founder

1w

wow. This is sad. I AP'd a thing called Hollywood Master Storytellers at the Arclight Theater in Los Angeles years ago. I met some amazing people doing this. Jon was there for some film we were highlighting. (I genuinely don't recall which one. Titanic likely?) I pitched him briefly as we were descending on one of the escalators after the show. My project wasn't for him but he gave me permission to reach out and pitch anything else properly. I never took him up on it. I simply didn't have anything that would fit their world. The film world is a little dimmer today. Condolences to his family friends and to Jim! He really seemed like an awesome guy!

Nati Zaretsky

Unlocking 3D Magic and Movie Wonder | 3D Artist at ARJEANNIE | LinkedIn Content Creator | Follow me for daily content about Movies, 3D and LinkedIn | 𝟳𝗠+ 𝗜𝗺𝗽𝗿𝗲𝘀𝘀𝗶𝗼𝗻𝘀

1w

He was A LEGEND!!!Industrial Light & Magic

We've lost a hero. 💔 He will always be well respected for the incredible work he's done throughout his entire career.

Like
Reply
Marc Wendt

Executive Coach / Solutions Generator / Happy Homes Make Productive C-suites

1w

I am so sad to hear this and so grateful for his tireless dedication to achieving the highest levels of the art throughout his career.

Like
Reply
James Sweeney

Virtual Art Department Supervisor

1w

I never heard anymore more masterful at pitching a story❤️

Doug Griffin

Emerging fund manager | Early stage investor | Managing Partner at Spatial Capital | Venture Partner at DART

1w

What a legend. His work will live on. Rest in peace

Thank you for everything you did for us ! We will do our best to honor your work and bring some of your projects and ideas to life ! Rest in peace sir.

Like
Reply
Wil Wells

Director of Art - Call of Duty @ Raven

1w

Jon was a fantastic creative partner and a true visionary, I'll forever miss his project briefs where he could masterfully pull you into a world and get everyone around so passionate to do the best work they've ever created. He was one of a kind and will be dearly missed.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics