Chief’s Post

View organization page for Chief, graphic

538,207 followers

The gratitude trap (noun): 1. The overly accommodating behavior, chronic apologizing, and meekness that so often feels required to the workplace as a woman. 2. An obstacle that undermines a leader’s value and effectiveness. In an exclusive excerpt from her new book, “Unwavering: Rejecting Bias, Igniting Change, Celebrating Inclusion,” Nellie Borrero, author and Senior Strategic Adviser for Global Inclusion & Diversity at Accenture, lays out some powerful reframes for avoiding the gratitude trap.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Lorene Thornburg

Manager, Legal Support at Charles Schwab

2w

I can’t tell you how many times I start an email with, “I’m sorry this fell off my radar.” I delete it and say, instead, “Thank you for your patience. Here is the [ ] you asked for.”

Krista Hamilton

Supply Chain Operations Consultant

2w

The one I also hate when someone is recognized is "Thanks, I was just doing my job!!" I often encourage women I hear responsd this way to say something like, "Thank you, I worked hard on this and appreciate being recognized." So important!

Kristi Straw, MBA 🦄

🔹Founder + CEO | Fractional CPO | Available for BOD Roles | Futurist | Speaker | Brand Architect + F500 Strategist | '23 Woman of Influence | Author + Unicorn Leader™ | Workplace Empathy Consultant | Revenue Scaler🔸

2w

Yes, THESE!!! And also, recognize that people who aren't accustomed to your new way of self-advocating, may act out or show signs of disengaging with you. DO IT ANYWAY!!! Those aren't your people, and they never were. #UnicornLeader #TruthTeller

Thapthi Thea Fonseka

Simplifying Complexity to Create Holistic Solutions geared for Growth & Change | Impact Strategist | Learning Experience Designer

6d

Content like this 👆 are definetly useful for when breaking this cycle 🙌 When I started policing my own writing and what I say, I realised that it had become a habit to use words like "might" and "maybe" and definitely "sorry" in a lot of places that it's not needed in. And it is self diluting the impact of what I have to say. Then I started actively keeping an eye out in what I write and say to train myself to stop doing this

Like
Reply
Paulina Reyes

Creative Director, formerly: Bombas | JKR | Mother | Kate Spade

2w

Knowing your value is important. Part of that is understanding where it’ll serve the most. There will be times where “I don’t think I’m the right choice/fit, but I know the perfect person for it” is the adequate reframe. An honest assessment of a situation, and a generous gesture.

Lacey MacLeod

You can be a successful, high-performing leader without feeling burnout! | Certified Executive and Leadership Coach with 15+ years of HR Experience | Keynote Speaker | CEO of Talent Uplifted

3d

Though I agree with the concept of using more assertive language, I really don’t like calling it the “gratitude trap.” Actual gratitude is powerful ANY time it is used. Saying “I’m sorry” too often has nothing to do with gratitude. Let’s not turn a positive, powerful thing into a negative marketing slogan. Let’s create clarity in how to practice gratitude and communicate more directly and/or specifically.

Like
Reply
Vikram Shetty

I help DEI consultants attract warm leads using data driven insights. How? → Download FREE ROI of DEI — White Paper Now! Click below 👇

1w

I don’t know who needs to hear this but… "Setting boundaries at work is not selfish, it's self-care. Value your worth and watch your effectiveness soar."

Dawn Wiley, MA, BBA

Learning & Development | Instructional Designer | Trainer | Program Manager | Project Manager

2w

Chief I'm adding "Thank you for recognizing my value" instead of "thank you for the opportunity" to my vocabulary.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics