K2 Space Corporation’s Post

View organization page for K2 Space Corporation, graphic

6,893 followers

A lot of people associate space with their childhood - at K2 Space Corporation we hope to help make those childhood dreams a reality. We're excited to introduce the next member of our team, Morgan Locandro, our Senior Satellite Mechanical Engineer, who comes to us from NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Tell us about yourself Morgan Growing up, my family ran a home improvement business, so I have always felt at home with tools in hand. As a high school student, I began pursuing engineering as a founding member of my high school’s FIRST robotics team and discovered a passion for space while working as an intern at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, where I continued to work after graduating from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. During my time at the Lab, I had the opportunity to work on several Earth-orbiting satellites (Sentinel-6, SWOT, and NISAR), the EMIT Instrument (currently operating on the International Space Station), and the Mars Sample Return mission. When I am not working on engineering projects, I love anything outdoors: running marathons or trails, climbing, cycling, skiing, and off-roading with my dog Apollo. You’ll also find me volunteering at FIRST Robotics competitions and working on BattleBots with the Valkyrie team. I hope that through whatever I do, I can inspire others in engineering. What was your first memory of space? As an elementary school student, my class tasked us to create a journal to track the moon phases, and I remember being fascinated by how far away it was. At the time, I did not think it was possible that my future self would send hardware into space. My most exciting space memory was visiting VAFB to see the first project I worked on as an intern, Sentinel-6, launch on a Falcon 9. What space application are you most excited about moving forward? There are so many amazing developments in space happening that it’s impossible to pick just one (or even a few), but I am particularly excited about exoplanet study and discovery, Mars Sample Return, and asteroid mining. The work in these areas paves the way for us to learn more about the history of the universe and eventually to get astronauts to other planets. One of my favorite aspects of working in space is the opportunity to contribute to caring for and understanding Earth through crucial Earth science missions, while also contributing to the exploration and understanding of celestial bodies beyond our own.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Ron Locandro

CEO Peer Advisory Group Chair | Outdoorsman | Telemark Skier | Ultramarathon Runner

1mo

So impressed by all you have accomplished while having fun in the process!!

Lori Cunningham

Customer Success Manager at Health Access Solutions

1mo

You childhood picture is priceless and your focus and drive is well explained

David Osielski, MLIS

Research Archivist--Professional Digital Librarian📚Experienced Network Connector--Phenomenal Content Curator--OSINT EHI Patent Clerk💎SETEC Evangelist--Interdimensional Watchman Ps130.6💥Sacred Quantum Alchemist🙏⚛️⚗️

4w

Congrats Morgan Locandro Looks like a phenomenal opportunity! My first memory of space was vacationing with my family in Florida in February 1986 the month after STS-51L tragedy.

Like
Reply
Michelle Easter

Mechatronics Engineer at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

1mo

You are lucky to have Morgan! 👏🏻👏🏻

Will Creech

Product, Graphic, and UX Designer

1mo

Morgan, this is Mrs. Creech, aka Ms. Donnelly, I’m using my husband‘s account to comment. I’m so glad to see you following your dreams! Your mom messaged me so I could see what you wrote about the moon journal. Such good memories! Good luck in all that you do in your new adventure!

Drew Miller

Head of Structures and Mechanisms at K2 Space

1mo

Too good! So proud to be working with you. We are going to build great things together!

Randy Pollock

Chief Scientist/Engineer – Space

1mo

Hey Morgan! I hope you enjoy your new team as much as I am sure they will enjoy having you there. Good luck!

Julia Stankiewicz

NASA JPL Student Researcher | Brooke Owens Fellow 2020 | MSc Aerospace at TUM | ISU SSP21

1mo

Congrats Morgan! So exciting 🚀☺️

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics