Marco Brown’s Post

View profile for Marco Brown, graphic

Protecting you by removing your fear about divorce and helping you maximize your money and time with your kids

Dear Law Student, Had an almost law student ask me about networking with attorneys. Here was my response: It depends, but I think the best general approach to networking with attorneys is to network with those who practice in the geographic area you'll want to get a job in once you graduate. So, if you want to live in San Diego, network with every attorney you can in San Diego. The reason is because these people will be those who hire you or help you get a job once you graduate. And while you don't know exactly what you'll do once you graduate, you know you'll be in San Diego and you'll have a good wide pool of contacts to help you.

Keeley Blanchard

LawStory Jury Consultant | Litigation, Trial, Courtroom Strategy | Trial Skills Training | Legal Speaker and Presenter

1w

One of the best things I did in building my law firm was begin to network with attorneys nationwide. There were times where it felt like it didn't make a lot of sense to invest in relationships that were across the country - is a lawyer in Utah going to be sending me a case in Michigan? How is it going to help me to know a lawyer in California or North Carolina? But it turned out to be shockingly effective. Not only have I received a huge amount of referrals from lawyers all over the U.S., I've been invited to pro hac in to try cases with them in other jurisdictions. And now I get to travel around the country in my trial consulting business to work with those lawyers. And one of the other great benefits has been that when a friend, family member, client, or community member needs a lawyer in another state and they call me looking for advice, I can almost always connect them with someone who I know will take good care of them. It builds trust, which means they will send me business in the future. I agree that networking locally is very helpful, but I'd add that having a network of lawyers all over will be helpful to you in the long run.

Like
Reply
Joe Pickard

Trial lawyer at Pickard Law, PC

1w

Perfect advice.

Like
Reply
EDWARD MACIAK

ASSISTANT REGIONAL COUNSEL at STATE OF FLORIDA -RETIRED

1w

Good insight!

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics