Marco Brown’s Post

View profile for Marco Brown, graphic

Protecting you by removing your fear about divorce and helping you maximize your money and time with your kids

Within the first 3 months of my first law firm job, I knew I wouldn't last. This story, one of many, illustrates why. I was putting together an order from a hearing. I found a template to use, but the beginning was larded up with a bunch of colorful lawyer language. It seemed completely worthless verbiage meant to obfuscate rather than communicate clearly. I went to the partner over me and asked, "So, is this language necessary, or it is something we include because we've done it this way for a while?" He said responded, saying, "I don't know. I've never thought about it. I don't think the rules require it, but if it's in the template, you should probably leave it in there." I took it out anyway. He put it back in. I took it out the next time. He put it back in. Eventually, I capitulated to the institutional stagnation, and I resented every second of it.

Brian Haderspock

J.D. Candidate at NSU Shepard Broad College of Law | Bolivian Lawyer

2w

Your story highlights a common issue in traditional law firms: resistance to change and a preference for the status quo. The partner's insistence on keeping unnecessary language, despite your efforts to improve clarity, shows how entrenched practices can stifle innovation and create frustration.

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics