Proterra’s Post

View organization page for Proterra, graphic

45,395 followers

Meet Sophie Palmer (and Otis), Mechanical Design Engineer at Proterra! Tell us about you background and where did you grow up? I was born and spent a significant part of my childhood in Germany, before moving outside of Boston where my mom's family is from. I studied mechanical engineering (modified with studio art!) at Dartmouth College in Hanover, NH where I quickly learned how much I love the challenge of building technical skills while also taking courses in studio art and the liberal arts. This mix of humanities to understand the global needs of our generation and technical problem solving felt like a really great foundation moving into my first job! What do you enjoy most about your role at Proterra? Ever since I started at Proterra, I've felt extremely grateful for the freedom and responsibility my team gives me. As a mechanical design engineer, I get to make a tangible impact on not only our product, but also the clean transportation industry. What motivated you to join the clean transportation industry? I originally joined Proterra as an avid public transportation fan. Growing up in Germany, I learned to use public transit over car travel and as an adult learned to appreciate its power to reduce pollution. Electrification of public transit and the heavy duty industry is another critical step towards reducing the damage of today's climate crisis.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Ken Wing

Sr. Principal Engineer at Rhombus Energy Solutions, now part of Borg Warner

6d

Well done Sophie! Electrification of school and public transport busses and vehicles, utility vehicles, such as trash trucks, parcel and postal delivery, and the like, are absolutely needed! They also provide opportunity for grid peaking with V2G charging.

Like
Reply
Jack Allen

Retired Navistar and Proterra

1w

Always enjoyed interacting with Sophie. Such a positive person.

Like
Reply
Amanda Morris

Marketing at Proterra 🔋

1w

The best duo!

Like
Reply
Gabriel Ferreira

Proterra's Chief of Staff | MBA, Black Belt Six Sigma, Quality & Business Excellence Executive, PMO, Commercial

1w

Super Star!

Like
Reply
Neha Vedavathi Rama

Sr Stress Engineer at Proterra

1w

Keep shining Sophie!!

Like
Reply
Ed Holcombe

Vice President at LCT Associates Inc

1w

Way to go!

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics