Simon & Schuster’s Post

View organization page for Simon & Schuster, graphic

162,102 followers

Ethan Joella, author of THE SAME BRIGHT STARS, discusses why he loves writing in short chapters. Learn more: https://lnkd.in/eBDhGFwY

I love this, I just finished a non-fiction manuscript, first draft, and I went out of my way to sprinkle in short chapters with longer ones, to keep a pace moving.

Brian T.

Science Fiction Author.

2w

Thanks, Ethan; I usually write short chapters for the e-book market. If you lost your place, it is much easier to jump back to where you were reading/listening. Depending on the story, sometimes I make the Chapter headings very distinctive, as it creates anticipation for the next chapter and helps with navigation. One of my favourites is; "Chapter 23. There’s Nothing more dangerous than an indignant librarian!"

Janet Polech

Photographer | Content Writer Eldercare Companion

2w

I agree and also prefer short chapters. Shorter can keep the momentum of page turning and the satisfaction of finishing something. Plus can make it easier to take a break when needed. 📕

Like
Reply
Leanne Dyck

author, blogger (authorleannedyck.blogspot.ca)

2w

As an avid reader with dyslexia, please accept my thanks for keeping chapters tight.

Like
Reply
Paul Douglas Lovell

Writer (seeking help) I never shop online, I don't own a smartphone and I won't answer my door after 6pm. Other than that, I'm quite approachable.

2w

What, in word count is considered a mini-chapter? Sorry, that should read short not mini.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics