UPS’ Post

View organization page for UPS, graphic

1,809,398 followers

What were you doing in 1974? Cal Murray was starting his career as a UPS driver. During that time, he has driven for 50 years and more than 4 million miles without an accident. We sat down with Cal to learn about his incredible and safe journey over the past 5 decades. Q: What do you like best about your job? A: The training that keeps me safe all these years. UPS spends a lot of time and money on training, and it pays off. We are the safest drivers on the road. Q: Have you had any close calls where your training saved the day? A: Once, a guy lost control of his motorcycle and almost slid under my tractor. Because I had a safe following distance, I was able to stop. The driver survived and thanked me for saving his life. Q: What are the biggest challenges of your job? A: Dealing with other drivers on the road is a challenge. I drive the most dangerous stretch of highway in the U.S. and see accidents on a weekly basis. I have to ensure my safety as well as that of other drivers on the road. Today, there’s more traffic and distracted drivers on their phones. I have to drive for the public as well as myself. Q: Tell us about your customers? A: Interacting with all my customers is one of the best parts of the job. They’re friendly, appreciative of my hard work and have even fed me from time to time. Q: How do you stay in shape for your job? A: I stretch, exercise, eat right, load up on vegetables and fruit, stay away from fast food, pack a healthy lunch and drink plenty of water. #NationalSafetyMonth #Safety #Training #CircleOfHonor

  • No alternative text description for this image

The worst delivery company, they lost my package and the second one they sent it to me with the wrong product, also the lack of professionalism they have as staff is incredible, when I made my claim they hung up on me twice and on the third time a man answered me who did not know how to do their job or treat a client, all the emails I have sent them to date have not been answered, the worst experience with this correspondence company.

Bill Riley

UPS (Area Sales Manager) Retired

2w

You are truly a special person and set and example for all drivers. Thank you

John B.

Transitioning from Charter School Teaching to a Career in Transportation and Logistics.

1w

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for the invaluable advice you’ve given me on how to manage my health as a driver. Your knowledge and experience have been incredibly helpful. On another note, I’m seeking some career advice. I’ve worked two seasonal package delivery jobs for UPS and loved every minute of it. The camaraderie, teamwork, work environment, and discipline at UPS are second to none. Even though I’ve also worked as a charter school teacher, my heart has always been with UPS. I’ve decided to leave teaching and pursue a full-time position with UPS. Currently, I’m trying to find a full-time 22.4 or Regular Full-Time Package Car Driver (RFT PCD) position in New Jersey. Additionally, my family and I are planning to move to Florida within the next year because my entire family has relocated there from Staten Island. Is it possible to transfer and secure a job with UPS in Florida? Thank you again for your advice and support. I truly appreciate it! Best regards, John

Peter May

Upbeat & Positive Semi-Retired

2w

Congratulations Cal....I was a business partner with UPS....a fine company...thanks for being a safe driver and keeping us safe 🙂

DeWayne Lollis

Associate State Office Manager at American Wound Care Partners

2w

I agree! What a Safety Record!! Driving In Todays Enviroment

Patricia Smith

Independent Consultant , Team Leader at PartyLite

2w

Congratulations on 50 year’s of safe driving 🙏🏾👏🏾

Katherine Michelle Montoya

Bilingual Customer service Agent ||English Teacher|| Translator

2w

Thanks for sharing! Those trainings are great tools as he mentioned, please don't stop working with that passion and care thar you have done all these years.

Like
Reply

Congratulations,Cal that’s definitely historic numbers that’s awesome. and I thought I was doing good at 32 years safe driving when I retired great company to work for the safety method all the time in my personal vehicle to this day.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics