Boy Scouts of America’s Post

View organization page for Boy Scouts of America, graphic

73,418 followers

The BSA is joining forces with Know2Protect to help parents and trusted adults understand how to #KeepKidsSafeOnline. Visit know2protect.gov for more information and resources. #OnlineSafety #Know2Protect

  • No alternative text description for this image
Brad Braddock

CEO at AMERICAN SCUBA SCHOOL

2mo

Saying these things. For example “We need more awareness of child abuse” and “this is the world we live in now” creates an us vs. them kind of attiude. I believe what I find to be most offensive is that you guys “your establishment” keeps changing, although some of us, like me for example have refused to change with society. Once, we stood together, we were happy go lucky, we didn’t harbor so much hated and discontent for one another. We didn’t say things like “everyone must be verified”, “everyone must pass a background check”. We didn’t have so much skepticism for one another. We just accepted each other. You’re good until your not, until you prove me wrong. You’re right, I am not like you. I don’t give people an ultimatum. I don’t have this us vs. them attuide that so many of you are hanging on to. I want more freedom, not less. I’m not asking you for your respect and I’m certainly not asking for your disrespect either.

Like
Reply
Derek Howland

Scoutmaster at Boy Scouts of America

2mo

In this day and age of social media, it is easier for predators to get into our homes via SM. Learning what to be aware of and how to protect our kids from these predators is of utmost importance. It is not always a stranger that is targeting our kids, it could be someone you consider a friend who uses you to get closer to their intended target. I have been involved in Scouting for the last 15 years, have a son who is an Eagle Scout and a daughter on her way to Eagle. If I have to wallow through filth to be able to protect them from online vermin, I will willingly do so. This situation hits close to home, while my child has not been harmed, a trusted friend abused his friendship and sent inappropriate material to my daughter. He claimed it was in error. BSA is aware that these kinds of situations can arise and are offering us the tools to protect not only our own kids, but those I am responsible for as a Scoutmaster.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics