Dr Claire Knight’s Post

This is a great essay. And something I've been talking about with startup folks here in the UK a lot more in the last few years. And why I celebrate those who are doing things differently. The ex Monzo and GoCardless crews are some of those. My value comes in execution of engineering orgs, and I'm not naturally a founder. But it makes me sad that the companies I've found the best fit at are all US based. Yes, I love working with globally distributed teams so that is an added bonus but I wish the UK had more ambition. For those without privilege I know it's hard. I could never have done it back in the day. But it's also an important message to investors and those who do found things. Take some risks. Shoot for the moon! You never know what might happen 🚀

View profile for Tom Blomfield, graphic

Recovering tech founder.

Students at Stanford and Berkeley start companies at more than 5x the rate of their peers at Oxford and Cambridge. As a country, we should want our smartest and hardest working people building successful companies. The prosperity that they create will make the entire country wealthier. We need to make our pie bigger, not fight over the economic leftovers of the US. https://lnkd.in/ezNGBMwE

Taking Risk

tomblomfield.com

Chris Tingley

Tech Entrepreneur and Investor

1mo

Thanks for sharing Claire. A good read indeed!

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics