Outcast’s Post

View organization page for Outcast, graphic

26,787 followers

As AAPI Heritage Month comes to a close, we want to continue celebrating these important conversations year-round. We are inspired by our president's reflections on embracing and sharing her heritage. Her courage in sharing personal leadership stories highlights the importance of visibility and representation. Let's recognize the progress we've made and the work still ahead in celebrating the rich diversity of AAPI communities. Join us in sharing your stories and moments of pride in the comments below to continue this conversation.

View profile for Julie Inouye, graphic

President at Outcast / Communications & Marketing Executive

Wishing everyone a very happy AAPI Heritage Month! For the majority of my career, I’ve been shy about publicly sharing my heritage and personal leadership stories, because it always felt like I was taking space in an already crowded conversation. Who would care? Why does my story matter? Someone else will do it. It wasn’t until I started to receive unprompted reach outs from students asking how I navigated my career and family obligations & expectations as an Asian leader, that it struck me – if not me, then who? So in this spirit, I wanted to share a recent moment that made me feel so proud of my Korean heritage. Last Friday, I took my two daughters (10 & 12) to a Kpop concert for ENHYPEN (#iykyk) and let me tell you, it was insane in the best way! An entire stadium full of non-Korean fans dancing and singing in KOREAN!!! I never imagined in my lifetime I'd get to experience such a phenomenon. We’ve come such a long way and while there’s so much more work to do, the fact that thousands of people can come together to share their love of a culture and music not of their own, to me, signals something quite hopeful. I welcome others to share their personal story or proud moment in the comments, and that we continue to celebrate AAPI stories all year round. #AAPI

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics