Filed under:

Patchy Mix hopes Jose Aldo signs with PFL: ‘I’m a whole different animal than’ Jonathan Martinez

Patchy Mix hopes to make another dream come true.

The Bantamweight division is arguably the best in mixed martial arts (MMA) across all promotions. Atop the list of champions is Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) titleholder, Sean O’Malley, but right up there in the discussion for No. 1 worldwide is Professional Fighters League’s (PFL) Bellator kingpin, Mix.

The 30-year-old Mix became a champion in 2023 just as O’Malley did. On the younger side and nearing their athletic primes, both men have admittedly admired the legendary former UFC Featherweight champion, Jose Aldo. Now competing at Bantamweight, the Brazilian icon recently returned to action and finds himself weighing options as a free agent. Mix hopes he can be the one to draw “Scarface” in for his next title defense.

“Jose Aldo is a free agent,” Mix told MMA Fighting. “I saw that he recently finished his deal over there in the UFC. So if he’s going to sign with anyone, I’d love for PFL or Bellator to snatch him up. He just fought a guy at [135 pounds] in Jonathan Martinez and I think I’m a whole different animal than that kid.

“To the legend, much respect, but I think I match up well with him,” he continued. “I don’t think he’s ever been submitted except for maybe his first-ever fight. That kind of excites me, something like that.”

Aldo ended his brief MMA retirement at UFC 301 when he earned a unanimous decision over Martinez in May 2024. Aldo, 37, has stated since his victory that he still has championship aspirations. Whether that’s in another sport or MMA promotion remains to be pinpointed.

Ultimately, Mix believes the legend needs a big fight.

“My mouth waters thinking about that shit,” Mix said. “They need a big fight for that guy. There’s other ones for him but he’s at [135] and outside of his promotion, in the world I am the top-ranked Bantamweight. Outside of his promotion and inside of his promotion, I believe, but I know for a fact outside of it. I’m the most highly touted guy. So if he’s going to stick to doing MMA and he’s going to go anywhere, I would love to be the guy that welcomes him to the show. It fits. He’s a legend and I respect him.

“This guy paved the road,” he concluded. “I remember being in high school watching him fight some of the craziest fights.”

Mix’s first title defense came in a rematch against Magomed Magomedov at Bellator Paris in May 2024. After a second round guillotine choke win in their first encounter in December 2022, Mix had a more competitive effort against the Russian, winning a split decision.

A consummate finisher at 135 pounds, the champ knows he can provide the type of test an Aldo requires.

“I’m sure he’s chasing big challenges,” Mix said. “He just fought Martinez, who was also on a seven-fight win streak himself. He rocked the shit out of Martinez, he did really well. He had a dope-ass takedown in the third round, hit the double leg on him. It was a rebrand a coming of age, kind of like reminiscent of the old Jose Aldo at that Rio card. It was cool to watch.

“I would want to finish that guy,” he continued. “I have such a sour taste in my mouth that I just went to a decision. In that third round, I should have never let go of that guillotine and I should have strangled him unconscious. I’m beating my head in for it.”

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Mania Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Mania